Stories Pieced in Paper and Glue

Before the birth of my second son, I self-published a book of artwork titled “Stories Pieced With Paper and Glue.”  Below is the introduction to that book, as well, as photographs of a few of the pieces.  I thought it related to my earlier post about being a legend in my own mind.

collage to commemorate second pregnancy

I just completed the layout for this book, and it felt like an exercise in narcissism!  You would think I was Salvador Dali himself, with the way I carry on and on about “my work.”  But, as this book is meant to chronicle my progression as an artist, I feel it is important to capture the details.  I hope to look back on it when I’m eighty, and be reminded of what I was thinking when I made each piece.  I used to think it degraded the work to have to write about the fine points rather than remembering them.  But as I get older, I remember less and less, so writing to capture details is a means to an end.

I started collaging about ten years ago, and began using it as a method to document my life around eight years ago.

 engagement collage

I was drawn to collage for several reasons.  I was living with three roommates, and between the four of us, we had quite a collection of magazine subscriptions.  I noticed that in every issue, there was amazing artwork and photographs- some of them, I’m sure the artists dedicated their lives to capturing a single moment, only to have the issue discarded as soon as the last page was turned.  It seemed like such a waste to me.  I wanted to find a way to display all those hidden gems.

husband’s last hurrah motorcycle trip to Alaska before having kids

I had secretly always dreamed of being an artist, but felt I lacked the natural talent and training.  When I was younger, I did not have the means to take art classes.  I lived in a rural town that did not offer courses in art.  I was thirty miles from a major city, and had very little funding.  I was unable to attend college right out of high school.  By the time I had my own financial means, I lacked the self confidence to pursue a formal artistic education.  In my mid to late twenties, I began to draw and paint privately.  I had some raw ability, but without proper guidance, I struggled to create the images I saw in my head.

 goodbye ColoradoHello Arizona

My early collages were pretty standard.  I collected images I was drawn to, and began to piece them together.  Many were based on political ideas, especially female stereotypes in mass publications.  I then began to create collages based on themes, as gifts for friends.  I had a friend who was a DJ during the rave craze, so I created a collage for him based on rave culture.  I had another who loved meat, so I fashioned one for him with pictures of different cuts.

At this time, I began to gain more confidence in my artistic ability.  I had ended a toxic relationship and felt like I had a second chance at creating the kind of life I would enjoy.  I began to take more chances, and to care less about my lack of formal training.  Instead of merely piecing together other peoples’ pictures, I began to create my own pictures from scraps of paper and repurposed images.  I also began to tell the story of my own life through my collages, documenting important milestones and influences.

Liam’s birthday collage

While I was making personal progress, I noticed that the artistic community looked down upon collage as an art form.  Most viewed it as simply gluing together the works of other people.  I wanted my collages, good or bad, to at least be seen as original.  I started sketching components that I would later create out of paper.  I also started photographing my own images to be used in the collages, at one point going so far as to photograph every element that I would use in a particular collage.  I took pride in challenging myself to create completely original works.

Now I am at a place where I just want to create pictures that make me happy.  I still draw and photograph for my collages, but I also marry them with pieces taken from magazines and books.

road to having kids

I wish I had begun to document my progress long ago, as I think it is a great tool for learning.  I have no record of most of my earliest collages.  I gave or threw them away.  Once I started documenting, I didn’t really think through the best method to capture images.  Many of the visuals in this book are taken from very terrible photocopies I made of the collages before disposing of them.  I then tried to go back and photograph the photocopies.  I have documented what I could in the format I could.

I used to never call myself an “artist” or talk about “ my work,” because I thought people that did sounded like assholes.  I still kind of think that.  But I’ve also decided that if you spend a decade of your life doing something, it must be important to you.  At one point, when my confidence was at a low, I quit making pictures.  I felt like a joke among the artists that I knew.   I had one of those much talked about “a-ha” moments when I realized I made pictures not for recognition, but simply because it brought me joy to do it.  I was doing myself a disservice and making my life a little more miserable by denying myself the activity.  So I picked up my scissors and glue and started piecing together my story once again.

collage for my crafty ladies

What can I say, I’m a collage artist.  I’m a joke.  I’m an asshole.  I like what I do

This entry was posted in bright ideas, crazy on you, rants, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

